Photo: Aiming for a higher level in Lamphun.

Travel technology forum

iPhone SIMs in SEA

Posted by TravelMoo on 2/6/2014 at 16:55

Hi everyone,

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere but after a search round the forums I have struggled to find a definitive answer. Pretty much every other question I have had I have managed to get an answer to from the website and forums so thanks - it's been invaluable so far!

I am planning a solo trip in SEA from Oct 2014 to March 2015 visiting Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam & Laos. Then depending on time to spare and recommendations I get on the way may visit Indonesia or the Phillipines. I'm from the UK.

It is my first time travelling and as a young female doing it alone I am going to have a lot of worried people back home who will want to know they can get a hold of me fairly quickly if need be. Therefore, I am keen to ensure I have a plan in place for how I will call/text/email/Skype back home.

I am planning on taking and iPad mini (wifi only) and an iPhone 4s. I will use the iPad for skyping when I have access to wifi (hopefully fairly regularly) as well as general internet browsing when I am not out and about. I'd like to use the iPhone for calls and texts (both to home plus others I may meet along the way in country). Ideally I'd also have some data allowance on there for things like quick emails (to worried parents) where wifi isn't available or a quick check of google maps if I get lost.

It seems I have two options:
1) buy an international SIM in advance (I know STA travel have one)
2) buy SIM cards in each individual country that come with data allowances

I wondered what everyone's recommendations would be? It seems like it might be a bit of a hassle changing up in every single country but is that the cheapest option? Or am I being unrealistic and should I just take a cheap Nokia or something for calls/texts and rely on wifi for internet?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks