Travel technology forum

Enough WiFi bandwidth for mass flickr uploading?

• staverton

Joined Travelfish
    3rd August, 2009

Hi all,

I'll be travelling to Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Thailand from mid September for four weeks and am trying work out my best option for backing up photos on the move.

I'm a keen amateur photographer and have been known to take over 1,000 pics in a day whilst travelling (this is the very extreme of course, thanks to all the pretty shrines and temples in Kyoto last year). Realistically I expect to take anywhere between 0 and 300 pics a day. My main camera is 10MPx and so even the JPEGs are around 4MB each (I've given up taking RAWs when travelling).

So, given the volume of photos, the options I had for backing were either:

1 - Buy a load of SD cards and carry them around in something waterproof or maybe mailing them home (although I fancy my chances of getting them home myself better).

2 - Buy a netbook to offload the pictures from the SD cards I already have. Plus, I have a PacSafe and a notebook lock to secure these up in the guesthouse while I'm out for the day.

I think for the amount of photos I'll take, the netbook would be cheaper, plus it would be really useful for using the net on the move too. But the thing is, if it gets stolen I don't really care about the hardware, but loosing the pictures would be awful. So I thought to myself, I could always spring for a Flickr Pro account so I could upload as many photos as I wanted and easily back them all up. That said, I have no idea how much bandwidth the average free guesthouse WiFi has. I mean, if its like South Korea (and I don't expect it to be!), fantastic! However, if it's like Africa, then I may as well not bother.

Any other travelling techies or photographers care to weigh in on how plausible my plan might be?

Cheers!

#1 Posted: 3/8/2009 - 23:04

• Advertisement

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish