Travel technology forum

Notebook on a 5 month Trip, would you?

• Missbonnie

Joined Travelfish
    23rd December, 2009

Hi im planning on going on a 5 month trip in the new year around SEA my question is would YOU take a notebook with you?

I am aware of how cheap public computers are however it would be nice to have your very own computer? Or would it become annoying to carry around?

Would you spend $700 on a netbook or would you put it towards your trip?

Please tell me your experiences!

Netbook im looking at: http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/product/257838/review/go.html

#1 Posted: 30/12/2009 - 04:55

• Advertisement

• Missbonnie

Joined Travelfish
    23rd December, 2009

God im a n00b when i say Notebook, i ment NETbook lol sorry guys!

#2 Posted: 30/12/2009 - 04:59

• dagardiners

Joined Travelfish
    30th December, 2009

Hi there - I'm no expert on the subject as we're about to leave on our trip mid-January but we bought a little Acer netbook for about $320 that we're taking with us. It sounded nice to be able to have a tool to upload and thereby backup pictures, keep a travel blog from the comfort of wherever we happened to be, and most importantly be able to skype at will with our kids and family back home. with the time change it will be helpful to not worry about finding an open and convenient internet cafe when it is a good time to say goodnight to the kiddos. That was our reasoning - and it's little enough to not really worry about lugging around! Good luck!

#3 Posted: 30/12/2009 - 06:38

• smash

Joined Travelfish
    21st June, 2009

I'm going to lug my macbook pro...
    moving to the UK via a 10 week trip around Asia so a necessary evil

#4 Posted: 30/12/2009 - 06:49

• Gorey

Joined Travelfish
    26th March, 2007
    Location United Kingdom
    Total reviews: 3