Trip reports forum

Easy Rider heaven

Joined Travelfish
    19th April, 2010

Posted from within Vietnam.

i have been staying in Vietnam for the last 4 months and am about to start my next Easy Rider Tour and thought it was about time to talk about the first tour i did.
    after the hassle of tour operators and ride past motorbike tour operators i headed for mui ne hoping the stress of saigon would be left behind.
    i booked my bus ticket and hotel with sinh cafe which turned out great. the bus ride was safe and the hotel was great for the price.
    after arriving i decided it was time to eat and walked out of the hotel to find a nice clean restaurant. i had two choices. the first was a massive, although empty, place (which i later found did the best and cheapest seafood for dinner. the other was a small place called yellow bamboo cafe. what i liked about this place was that there was no one hawking out the front and there were signs offering free travel advice.
    i went in for lunch and asked the lady about local tours. she told me her husband was an 'Easy Rider' and woud be back soon to talk.
    at that stage i didn't know what an 'Easy Rider' was except for the posters hanging around the walls.
    'River' arrived about 15 minutes later riding a 'real' motorbike, and a big smile on his face.
    his first words were 'what do you think?' pointing at his bike.
    having ridden trail bikes in my youth we went into the ins and outs of motorbikes and scooters in Vietnam, how to ride safe and what to do locally.
    took his advice and had a great afternoon on a rented bike. the next day i went back to talk to River about 'Easy Rider'. having watched him ride on the mui ne roads and spoken to him (he has near perfect english) i signed up for his 2 day trip to dalat.