• SBE

Click here to learn more about SBE
    Joined Travelfish
    14th April, 2008
    Location Global Village
    Total reviews: 5
    Places visited:
    At least 2

Travelfish ran a 5th birthday competition with loads of great prizes last summer and I was the lucky winner of one of them… an open water dive course on Ko Tao … so here’s my trip report.

I did my course at Master Divers which is run by Ayesha (who posts on Travelfish) and her boyfriend Wilco. All the staff there are very friendly and from what I saw it was a pretty professional outfit as far as the diving is concerned too.

Ayesha and Wilco helped me find (discounted) accommodation near their dive school during my course and Charlotte the receptionist was a mine of information about good places to eat on Ko Tao. Ayesha also kindly sent me my coursebook to Bangkok so that I could study it in advance.

I’m a keen snorkeler but I’d never done any diving in my life before so it was all new to me. Wilco was my instructor and I was fortunate enough to have one-to-one tuition from him.

My OW course took just 3 days to complete which was a bit too short for me to feel entirely at ease underwater (even with Wilco as an instructor). The Padi OW course only involves 4 actual dives so I also did a couple of fun dives afterwards with Master Divers to help consolidate what I’d learnt. I had been intending to do more dives in northern Sulawesi straight after the course too but unfortunately Air Asia cancelled my flights to Manado at the last minute so that plan got knocked on the head!