Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

5 weeks in Oct Vietnam and Cambodia**

• SarahIre

Joined Travelfish
    30th July, 2010
    Location Ireland

Ok so that didn't work out too well above. Anyways this is my very first time posting to a site like this or at all ha so bear with me pls. Myself and my boyfriend are leaving Australia mid Oct - though we are Irish and are planning to travel around Vietnam/Cambodia for 5 weeks (our return flight to Ire is November 17th). I have come across this website and am really impressed, it is making me 2nd think buying the LP book SE Asia on a Shoestring cos if I can get all the info here for free why not?!

I have yet to make out an itinerary and to be honest after reading many of the forum posts I am deffo not sticking to a strict one but I think it will go something like this - fly into Hanoi from Bangkok and travel south from there to HCMC and then onto Cambodia for a week or 5 days depending on time contraints. I have read posts re Ha Long Bay so this is def going to be introduced into our plans but just a few questions....

Is is better to fly throughout Vietnem from place to place or bus/train it? Safety wise but also financially as we are backpackers. We did Thailand in '08 for ten weeks and did a bit of both so maybe its the same?

Is this time period (roughly 5 wks) enough time to travel around Vietnam/Cambodia without rushing anything? I am super excited to finally get to go here so I really do WANT to enjoy it not to be travelling constantly!

How much money (roughly obviously) in say US$ would one need for this time period? So we can get our asses in gear for saving, we will want to do some tours, will be staying in clean accom but backpackers hostel etc - double room.