Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

Cookery class recommendations? Hue and Hoi An

• ruthabelle

Joined Travelfish
    14th September, 2010

Hello

I'd love a recommendation for a Vietnamese cookery class in either Hue or Hoi An. I'm a really keen cook so I'd like something hands on, not just demonstrations. Has anyone had a good experience?

Thank you!

Ruth

#1 Posted: 14/9/2010 - 02:22

• Advertisement

• rawjer

Joined Travelfish
    20th January, 2010
    Total reviews: 9

The food is great in both Hue and Hoi An , but it seems like the cooking-class industry is much bigger in Hoi An, plus most of us think it's a nicer town as well.

I was in Hoi An a few months ago and I discovered that many of the restaurants along the river run more of the demonstration-style classes, with half-day fees starting around US$25, including a trip to the market (which you can easily do on your own). Later I found that my favorite restaurant, which is admittedly a bit out of the way, does one-on-one classes for US$5 plus the price of the meal they teach you to prepare. I wrote about the experience, with photos, on my site.

Taking a cheap cooking class in Hoi An

There are other similar personal classes like this if you look around, and I highly recommend the one I did, plus that restaurant in general: Café 43.

#2 Posted: 14/9/2010 - 08:42

• violets

Joined Travelfish
    6th July, 2009
    Total reviews: 28

I did a class at Red bridge restaurant a few years ago and enjoyed the class and the food. You go to the market, go by boat down to the restaurant and then do a hands on class then eat. You book through Hai's cafe in town.

There seem to be lots of other classes in Hoi An but I don't know of any in Hue (also a popular city and definitely my favourite.)

#3 Posted: 14/9/2010 - 08:53

• swag

Click here to learn more about swag
    Joined Travelfish
    28th March, 2007
    Location Australia
    Total reviews: 6