Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

WHICH ARE THE CHAEP PLACES TO VISIT IN VIETNAM?

• SIKELGAITA

Joined Travelfish
    1st February, 2011

Hey! I'm in Saigon, during the TET, incredible! but here everyting it's so expensive (i have to travel other 3 months). Could someone suggest me some cheap places to visit and beaches? thanx

#1 Posted: 1/2/2011 - 05:34

• Advertisement

• vietnamrum

Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2011

Posted from within Vietnam.

I have been floating around SE Asia for 3 years. I have been spending a lot of time in Nha Trang . The last 3 months here the weather has been really bad but the last couple of days the sun has been out but it has been very windy.

Not been to Mui Ne but its a beach area between Saigon and Nha Trang.

Vietnam is a long coast therefor one big beach. Nha trang is a beach town. The tourist area has a few places that you can rent a bed to sit out in the sun such as The sailing club and Louisiane Brewhouse.

I stay a few ks from the tourist area so use a different beach.
    Since i live here i pay $5 a night for a guesthouse with cable TV, aircon, internet and fridge.
    Over TET Nha Trang and Mui Ne will be busy. So you have to search harder to get a cheaper guesthouse.

Bus and train availability will be limited as well

Food and Drink is cheap in Vietnam even the western run businesses.
    If you dirnk in the 1 litre beer hoi 7000 vnd or INOX 20000 vnd (silver flash 2 litres) it gets really cheap.
    If you eat at the local places it can be very cheap. So can be cheap or really cheap.

I just had 6 days in Dalat - mountain area - lots of hotels i pad $5 a night. Great spot.

Hoi an is a beautiful town. Spent a month there over the last couple of years. I paid $7 for a room. rent a bike to get to the beach several ks from town. there are 500 tailors if you like getting clothes made.

Hue ancient capital of Vietnam, citadel, river cruise to the tombs.

Hanoi - prefer here more than Saigon, the old quarter, lakes