Photo: Canals of Ca Mau, Mekong Delta.

Vietnam forum

Are hotel bookings really necessary?

Posted by MikeTV on 9/12/2011 at 13:42

Hello,

I'll be traveling through Vietnam in Jan.-Feb. 2012. I've booked a room my first night in Hanoi but haven't booked anything else yet. Do I need to consider booking a room ahead of time to consider the Tet holiday? How long does it last?

Secondly, Phu Quoc seems to be difficult to find accommodation as well. Do I need to book ahead in Phu Quoc to secure a 'good' place in a good location or can I wing it?

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

#1 MikeTV has been a member since 6/12/2011. Posts: 10

Posted by peuge on 10/12/2011 at 04:23

I have no experience of this, but what I've read is that everything is more expensive around tet. So everything you do is depended on your budget. For example there is a dozen flights from Hanoi to HCMC daily and they just can't be all fully booked. You just probably have to pay more. And I think the same goes for accommodation.

I think it gives you a freedom to choose (and is more fun!), when you don't plan everything ahead. Just don't expect list prices on flights and hotels/hostels.

#2 peuge has been a member since 8/11/2011. Posts: 15

Posted by daawgon on 11/12/2011 at 23:59

PQ book for sure - can be very difficult to find anything in high season. I would also book Sapa around Tet (2 wks before and after - the Viet Kieu are usually in country then). All the rest should have some rooms, but they will probably be much more expensive.

I would disagree with peuge on transport - that might be much more difficult than rooms? Try to stay off the roads as much as possible - terrible drivers in this country. I believe bus and train tickets go first and have probably sold out by now.

#3 daawgon has been a member since 17/4/2007. Posts: 1,083

Posted by caseyprich on 14/12/2011 at 09:04