Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

Are hotel bookings really necessary?

• MikeTV

Joined Travelfish
    6th December, 2011

Hello,

I'll be traveling through Vietnam in Jan.-Feb. 2012. I've booked a room my first night in Hanoi but haven't booked anything else yet. Do I need to consider booking a room ahead of time to consider the Tet holiday? How long does it last?

Secondly, Phu Quoc seems to be difficult to find accommodation as well. Do I need to book ahead in Phu Quoc to secure a 'good' place in a good location or can I wing it?

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

#1 Posted: 9/12/2011 - 13:42

• Advertisement

• peuge

Joined Travelfish
    8th November, 2011

I have no experience of this, but what I've read is that everything is more expensive around tet. So everything you do is depended on your budget. For example there is a dozen flights from Hanoi to HCMC daily and they just can't be all fully booked. You just probably have to pay more. And I think the same goes for accommodation.

I think it gives you a freedom to choose (and is more fun!), when you don't plan everything ahead. Just don't expect list prices on flights and hotels/hostels.

#2 Posted: 10/12/2011 - 04:23

• daawgon

Joined Travelfish
    17th April, 2007
    Total reviews: 2

PQ book for sure - can be very difficult to find anything in high season. I would also book Sapa around Tet (2 wks before and after - the Viet Kieu are usually in country then). All the rest should have some rooms, but they will probably be much more expensive.

I would disagree with peuge on transport - that might be much more difficult than rooms? Try to stay off the roads as much as possible - terrible drivers in this country. I believe bus and train tickets go first and have probably sold out by now.

#3 Posted: 11/12/2011 - 23:59

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48