Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

Chuc Mung Nam Moi!

• Tukee

Joined Travelfish
    14th January, 2012

Posted from within Vietnam.

I had some apprehensions prelude to my coming to Vietnam during Tet and same thing yesterday but I was glad to spend the New Year here in HCMC.

It was less sunny but still a little muggy today than yesterday. In the afternoon the heat was tampered by refreshing breeze here in downtown area.

The crowd was overflowing and festive, promenading at the almost one-kilometer Le Loi Ave. leading to the Opera House.

It seems I'm always in the right place at the right time.

Late morning, it's time to check what's happening and as I was mixing with the locals, I heard some banging of cymbals. I followed my ears to Dong Du St. just left of the opera House. I could never be luckier for they were about to start a street show at the Milano boutique at the corner of Sheraton Hotel.

This is my first time to see a street dragon dance which is composed of a troop of acrobats. One lone performer wearing a dragon-mascot mask-costume went up the pole installed there for the occasion. This nimble one contorted and balanced himself. Then two pairs of dragons handled in tandem by a pair of men, one on the head, the other the back, did a stepping and skipping act on about 8 rows of a pair of elevated metal stools set high at almost 2 meters (almost 6 feet). One mistep means a nasty fall. Great performance. It was just a preview of what's to come.