Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

2 weeks in Vietnam

• LoudFish

Joined Travelfish
    27th September, 2012

Hey everyone,

A friend and I are going to Vietnam for 2 weeks and I wanted to know how safe it is for 2 women to travel around the country. Is there something we should look out for? Also I wanted to know about payment and ATMs in Vietnam. I have a MasterCard form Tuxedo prepaid, will I be able to use it at ATMs etc.?

Thank you!

Jessica

#1 Posted: 27/9/2012 - 09:30

• Advertisement

• daawgon

Joined Travelfish
    17th April, 2007
    Total reviews: 2

Vietnam is fairly safe as long as you know the ropes. No problem at all with your cr card - just use an ATM at a good bank, and not one at a bar or store.

Personally I think the most dangerous thing in VN are it's roads and drivers - really the worst I've ever seen, so avoid long haul buses and fly between cities. You should also be aware of the usual scams in VN with taxis and cyclos. Use common sense here and you will be fine, but you should know that there are many poor people in VN who think that all tourists are wealthy, and a source of income for them!

2 weeks is very little time since VN is not as small as it looks on a small map, and transport (even air) between cities takes considerable time. In other words, don't crowd your trip with too many stops. Don't go with the cheapest cruise, hotel, whatever - pick midrange and you will be fine. Best thing about this country are it's wonderful people - try to meet them by getting away from the tourist trail. I strongly suggest you use the free student guide services such as Hanoikids, Danangkids and Saigonhotpot - wonderful people who love to show off their country in exchange for English practice.

#2 Posted: 27/9/2012 - 11:54

• LoudFish

Joined Travelfish
    27th September, 2012