Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

3-4 week trip - first timer advice needed!

• Katie2952

Joined Travelfish
    10th March, 2014

Hi,

I do apologise for any silly questions but I am in the very early stages of planning a solo trip leaving mid July and back mid August and I have never done anything like this before. Firstly before I ask for your much needed advice i'll tell you what kind of trip I'd like....

Fairly relaxed, not too much rushing around, spontaneous but safe. I will be alone but i'm desperate to lose my habit of over planning trips. I would love a fair bit of beach time. I need to keep the trip fairly cheap as I am on a budget. I am open to shared accommodation/hostels as long as I feel safe and would love the odd night of 'luxury' (in comparison to hostels any way!). As I've said I will be travelling solo for the first time in SEAsia (I've done the USA and Canada alone when I was 18-21 but nothing solo since).I am fairly confident travelling alone but would love to meet some people along the way.

So I firstly would ask what kind of route should I look at? The cheapest flights are flying in and out of Ho Chi Minh City. What route would you recommend from here? I was considering heading up to Hanoi and then jumping on a flight back down a few days before leaving for home. Would anyone recommend this or would I be trying to pack too much into my trip and losing the element of relaxation?

What is the best way to travel around Vietnam? This obviously depends on my route so hopefully the above question will answer that. Does travel have to be booked in advance? I'm sure I'll think of more to ask but that's enough to get me started!

Thanks in advance :-) Katie X

#1 Posted: 10/3/2014 - 17:23

• Advertisement

• antoniamitc-
    hell

Click here to learn more about antoniamitchell
    Joined Travelfish
    13th May, 2012
    Location United Kingdom
    Total reviews: 3
    Places visited:
    At least 39

Hi Katie,