Flag of Vietnam

Vietnam forum

What clothes to pack - formal clothing necessary?

• c1ee

Joined Travelfish
    13th May, 2009
    Total reviews: 2

Hi all,

I'm going on a trip to Vietnam in two weeks time. In my trip I plan on doing a lot of riding around on a motorbike, and also partying. I will be in Saigon, and will be riding all the way up to Hanoi.

I'm now trying to decide what clothes to pack. Should I bother taking my jeans? I would like to experience the night life, but does that mean I need to bring collar shirts, leather shoes, and maybe a jacket too? I'm going to be carrying a 65litre backpack, btw.

This is my first time travelling like this, so I'm a bit confused as to what I should/shouldn't be packing. Any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks

#1 Posted: 26/10/2009 - 06:29

• Advertisement

• violets

Joined Travelfish
    6th July, 2009
    Total reviews: 28

You won't need any formal clothes. I usually take 3 pairs of light pants and 4 shirts and wash them often.I take a pair of sandals and a pair of walking shoes. You might need something warmer in the north at this time of year; a polo fleece jacket is light. Try to keep your luggage as minimal as possible; you will not want to carry a whole bunch of spare unused things.

#2 Posted: 26/10/2009 - 07:18

• KCsaffas

Joined Travelfish
    27th October, 2009

Agree with previous answer. Travel as light as possible. Vietnam is cooler than Thailand, and maybe one pair of jeans or chinos is not a bad idea. Probably the pair that you arrive in by plane. Daytime is generally shorts/cargo pants. One fleece/sweat shirt also good idea for north.

#3 Posted: 27/10/2009 - 17:29

• c1ee

Joined Travelfish
    13th May, 2009
    Total reviews: 2

Thanks for your tips.

Regarding the chilly north, I'm thinking I can just buy a cheap jacket from Hanoi when I get there. Shouldn't be too difficult right?

#4 Posted: 27/10/2009 - 20:44

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10