Visas and border crossings forum

Visa Confusion

• zenz

Joined Travelfish
    10th December, 2012

Posted this in the Vietnam section before realizing there was a whole section on Visas...
    Apologies if this is a dumb question, but I read the FAQs and didn't find anything. This is my first time heading overseas and thus, my first time dealing with Visas.

I'm flying into Hanoi in early January with plans on exploring Vietnam for ~1 month, exiting into Cambodia in the south before continuing on to Thailand. However I'm also flying out of Hanoi to come back home mid-March and am unsure of what sort of Visa to get. I've read I can get a 90 day visa but will it work if I exit and re-enter? What's the best course of action for a Visa if I'll be hanging out in the country for a month before taking off and coming back ~6 weeks later? I don't know if I'll fly directly from Thailand to Hanoi the day before my flight or if I'll fly back earlier and explore around Vietnam a bit more before heading home. I'm trying to keep my plans as loose as possible. I'm Canadian if it makes a difference.

Also, how does this ROUGH plan sound?
    -Fly into Hanoi, explore around and head into N. Vietnam before heading south.
    -Spend 3 or so weeks heading south
    -Finish up in Vietnam and pop into Cambodia
    -Spend ~1 week in Cambodia before heading into Thailand.
    -Follow Eastern border of Thailand heading North until I hit Chiang Mai (maybe venture a bit further North as I've heard great things)
    -Drop south, head through Bangkok before entering the Southern tip of Thailand.
    -Eventually head back to BKK and catch a flight back to Hanoi (any idea how much will this run me on those cheap airlines I keep hearing about)

I'm interested in exploring natural places, experiencing the culture, and having a night of good partying here and there. Cheers for any info or help you guys can provide!

#1 Posted: 13/12/2012 - 17:45

• Advertisement

• DLuek

TF writer