Visas and border crossings forum

First Time in SE Asia - need clarification about visas!

• jennigun

Joined Travelfish
    25th December, 2012

Hi! My boyfriend and I will be in SE Asia from mid-may to mid july - right now we are thinking Thailand to Malaysia to Indonesia - but we are open to suggestions, if you think we are missing something important! We are 20 somethings who love to scuba, hike, and we have been all over Europe living out of our backpacks and are ready to continue the adventure.

I am totally new to the concept of visas - we will be flying from California to Thailand first. Do we need to obtain visas for the countries we want to travel in ahead of time? If so, when do we need to get started on the process to guarantee they will be there in time? When crossing into other countries, can we get the visas at the border crossing, or will this slow the process immensely (if it is even possible)? Do we need to show proof of leaving the country to avoid trouble, or is this not really an issue?

Sorry for the loaded questions and the generalizations, I realize the countries all have different processes but any sort of general framework for understanding the visa process would be fantastic. Thank you!!

#1 Posted: 26/12/2012 - 11:08

• Advertisement

• daawgon

Joined Travelfish
    17th April, 2007
    Total reviews: 2

You just need to do some research on Travelfish - under each country there is complete visa information. I personally prefer to use the Visa on Arrival process, but it differs slightly for every county. In any case, no one could help you without complete info from you - what passport do you hold?

#2 Posted: 26/12/2012 - 12:14

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113