Volunteering in Asia forum

Looking for a 3-months volunteering job without fees

• N3sh

Joined Travelfish
    10th January, 2013

Hello,

I have just registered and I am here to ask help for searching for a volunteering job in Asia.
    I have researched a bit and I have noticed that almost all the projects I have encountered so far require me to pay a fee for participating.

I am currently a student and that kind of money + travel expenses (flights for example) is far from my reach. Therefore I hope to find some opportunities where I get at least the accommodation and food while I work there.

If you know something similar in Africa or elsewhere, feel free to post it anyway.

Cheers.

N.

#1 Posted: 10/1/2013 - 05:26

• Advertisement

• LolaNguyen

TF writer
    Joined Travelfish
    28th August, 2012

Posted from within Vietnam.

It might help if you narrow down your search and pick a country with a few places you'd consider basing yourself, here in Hoi An there are a few not for profit projects that are always on the lookout for volunteers that provide accommodation and basic rations, one of them Project Indochina only want people that have the qualifications to help - nursing is a good tool, but there is also the lifestart foundation who are always on the lookout for anyone with absolutely anything to offer. They both have websites, so take a look.

Maybe someone else can help out with other destinations?

#2 Posted: 16/1/2013 - 03:07

• tatspaghetti

Joined Travelfish
    28th September, 2012

Are you qualified in anything useful for the volunteer organisations you want to work for? What kind of work are you looking for? It sounds like you are just looking for a free holiday!

When volunteering abroad you are taking the work away from local people. If you do not have any usable qualifications then it is justified that you will need to pay fees to join a program.