Volunteering in Asia forum

English teacher wants (free) volunteer work

• mari111

Joined Travelfish
    9th March, 2013

Hi,

I'm 23, I'm an ESL teacher, and I thought I'd like to spend a month or two volunteering in Thailand or Cambodia.

Ideally, the school/volunteering organization would look like this:

1. Has other English speakers there (so I don't get lonely :/)

2. Safe- I'm a solo female traveller

3. I wouldn't have to pay to volunteer- I'm on a low budget

4. Actually helps the people it's supposed to help! The more I read up on volunteer organizations in southeast Asia, the more it seems like they don't really help the people they're supposed to be helping. For example, they ask for childcare for orphans- and then the volunteers only stay for 6 months, which is really traumatic for the kids who form an attachment to the volunteers. Or, they get people to build houses, something Thai/Cambodian people could get paid to do, instead of having westerners pay to do it.

Does anyone know of organizations that fit what I want? Basically just a school with other English teachers, that doesn't ask me to pay for working,

#1 Posted: 21/3/2013 - 16:45

• Advertisement

• jwebster79

Joined Travelfish
    26th March, 2013

Hi

I might be able to help you out with some info