Volunteering in Asia forum

Volunteer Opportunities?

• blackpepper-

Joined Travelfish
    23rd November, 2009

Hi...I will be travelling in Laos (and Vietnam and N. Thailand)for some weeks... I am an experienced and certified teacher. I have a lot of experience teaching and teacher training EFL in Asia. I am currently a school owner/teacher in Japan and the educational advisor for a foundation in Bali.

When I travel, at the very least, I love to visit a school or two and see how the education system works. For me, it is facinating. Never one to be "voyeuristic" in the sense of just going for a look, I would love to do some volunteering. I can teach/train, spend a few hours, a day, a few days, a week....

If anyone has had a similar experience or has any contact information, it would be appreciated. I have searched the net and mostly the "pay to teach" variety is posted. Not knocking those programs, per se, but not really my interest. Thanks in advance if anyone has any thoughts or can help?

#1 Posted: 26/11/2009 - 07:16

• Advertisement

• Rufus

Joined Travelfish
    22nd April, 2007
    Location Laos

I would suggest that you have a look at the Mulberry Farm in Vang Vieng. They are always looking for volunteer teachers for the small school that is associated with them.

#2 Posted: 27/11/2009 - 07:28

• blackpepper-

Joined Travelfish
    23rd November, 2009

HI...thank you for the suggestion. I have checked out their site and will send an email to connect with them. It looks really great.

If anyone has taught there or been there, would love to hear your thoughts!

Any other suggestions are also still more than welcome!

#3 Posted: 27/11/2009 - 17:29

Have questions? Jump to our menu of forum quicklinks

Add your reply

Your reply

Check this box if you want to be notified of replies.

Please be familiar with our user guidelines before you post. Thanks!