Trailblazers' Fact Sheet

Get out there and beat a trail

No pic at the moment -- Sorry!

What we say: 4 stars

Over the years, we had expected to see these treks become more and more popular, but as of our last visit, the whole place is still empty.

Sekong province is divided into four districts -- Lamam, where the capital city of Sekong is located (known locally as Muang Lammam). Then there are Kaleum, Tha Teng and Darkcheung districts.

As of a census count in 2000, there were reportedly 273 tribal villages in the province, comprising a total population of about 82,000. There are 14 tribes: the Taliang, Ngai, Alack, Katou, Chatong, Lavenh, Lavy, Gnae, Dark Kang, Taliew, Ta Oy, Katang, Souay and Lao Lum.

Tha Teng and Darkchueng districts are colder throughout the year, with temperatures descending as low as three degrees Celsius in some areas in the rainy season, and rising as high as 35 degrees in the high season. The average yearly rainfall is about 2,500 mm.

Lamam and Kaleum are hotter and drier, with 1,500 mm of rainfall yearly.

Kaleum district
Kaleum, 74 kilometres from Sekong, offers a chance to visit the Ngae, Hathvy, Hanong, Packtrai, and HathPae tribal villages. Tham Daeng Cave can also be visited as well as Nang Lao mountain. Local transport over land to the village by tuk tuk or songthaew should be available at the Sekong central market and the bus station.

Dark Cheung district
This district, 105 kilometres from Sekong, is best visited in dry season when the roads are at their best, during March, April and May. Sites to visit include Thong Neum, Thong Lek and Pak mountain. The Thalieng tribe also has three villages here -- Darklang, Darkseng and Darkturb.

Last updated: 22nd June, 2013

About the author:
Adam gave up a corporate career in 2009 and left Australia for the hustle and bustle of Southeast Asia. He now lives in Indonesia, where as well as writing for he plays around with
Agoda logo
best price guarantee

Photo gallery

Photo for

Jump to a destination

Sights in Sekong