Wat Ho Phra Kaew
Beautiful temple and Buddhist art
What we say:
Visitors to this lovely temple set amid manicured grounds would never guess it has such a turbulent history. The wat was originally built in 1565 to serve as the personal temple of the Lao royal family, but was razed and looted during the Thai invasion.
The name of the temple is homage to the sacred relic it once housed, the Emerald Buddha, which was stolen by the Thais and now sits in a temple of the same name at the Grand Palace in Bangkok. The temple you see now was renovated in the 1940s and, even without the Emerald Buddha, it's worth a visit for its gallery of 18th century bronze Buddha statues. The collection of art celebrates Buddha in all his forms and devotees wrap the images with saffron fabric or affix squares of gold foil to the faces. The temple grounds are lush and there are a few shady spots for some meditation. Keep an eye out for a jar from the Plain of Jars beneath a small shelter on temple grounds.
More detailsBeside the Presidential Palace, Setthathilath Rd
Opening Hours: Daily 08:00-12:00, 13:00-16:00
Last updated: 6th August, 2010
Jump to a destination
- Hot spots
- Vientiane, Vang Vieng & surrounds
- Luang Prabang & Northern Laos
- 4,000 islands & Southern Laos
Latest from the wires
Sights to see in Vientiane
Sign up for Travelfish Burp!
Our weekly wrap on Southeast Asian travel.
Click here to see a recent newsletter.