When King Prasat Thong returned victorious from Cambodia in 1630, he ordered the construction of this stunning Khmer-influenced temple.
The site is rivalled only by Wat Ratchaburana and nearby Wat Puthaisawan for the most impressive Khmer-style prang in Ayutthaya. Centred around the large central prang, the complex has four lesser chedis along with 120 stucco seated Buddhas.
It's believed that relics of the Buddha and other royal ornaments are still encased somewhere inside.
The complex runs down to a pleasant stretch of the Chao Phraya River and is best visited in early morning and late afternoon.
How to get there
The temple is located southwest of the island, a good two kilometres from Wat Mahathat. The easiest way to get here is to take U-Thong Road all the way to the west of the island and cross the river via a bridge on Route 3263. Take a left down the first side street after the bridge and the turn-off for Wat Chaiwatthanaram will sneak up shortly after, on the left.
By David Luekens
Last updated on 27th November, 2014.