Photo: Time for some larger notes we reckon.

Finance and money forum

question about the condition of US bills

Posted by ratyoke on 10/1/2011 at 17:36

Hi everyone this is my first post. I'm going to Thailand tomorrow, and then Cambodia probably next week. I read that in Cambodia if there are any marks or tears in a US bill no one will accept it. This is ALL bills? Even one dollar bills, or just larger bills? From what I have read it seems that its all bills that must be new.

My main question is what about folds? I like to fold my money and half and put it in my front pocket. Am I going to be "ruining" all my money if I do that? I didn't want to bring a wallet cause its bulky, uncomfortable in a front pocket and too easy for pickpockets if its in my back pocket.

Does baht have to be in perfect condition to be accepted too?

Does anyone know the reason only new looking money is accepted?

Thank you. This is my first time traveling to S.E. asia and this site is a great resource.

#1 ratyoke has been a member since 6/12/2010. Location: United States. Posts: 4
 Send ratyoke a private message 

Posted by neosho on 10/1/2011 at 18:37

The only time I have had my dollars rejected was in China, and it was at an airport in the northeast. They ran them through a machine and it rejected them. I had withdrew them at the bank at home and had them checked to make sure they weren't couterfiet. Everywhere else I have went I have not had a problem. I would not bring torn or dollars missing corners etc here. Just to be safe. Hope this helps.

#2 neosho has been a member since 13/8/2008. Posts: 386

Posted by SBE on 10/1/2011 at 20:03

AFAIK the only country in SE Asia where they are REALLY picky about the condition of US dollar bills is Myanmar/Burma. A new $20 bill that I'd folded was refused by a money changer (but subsequently accepted by a Guesthouse owner) when I was there recently.