Photo: Time for some larger notes we reckon.

Finance and money forum

GBP Budget for SE Asia

Posted by Walshyr32 on 21/9/2012 at 10:16

Hi all,

Newbie here looking for some help. After 10 years in the Army and 4 years in the London rat race I really am set on taking some time out to see some of the world from a different perspective than I have whilst serving in the military. To cut a long story short I have a guaranteed income of £750 per month. I am already starting to seriously consider a year out and with planning time I reckon I could have around 6k (gbp) in savings by the time I am ready to head off. My question is, would my £750 per month allow me to travel around SE Asia? As a former 'squaddie' I'm more than comfortable roughing it but would also like to learn to dive, go to a Muay Thai school and do some island hopping.

I would love to visit Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos and possibly onto India.

Any advice you can give would be a great help.

Thanks in advance

Mark

#1 Walshyr32 has been a member since 21/9/2012. Posts: 3

Posted by daawgon on 21/9/2012 at 12:29

You might be able to get by with 750 in most of SE Asia, but you'd need a little more in the big cities of Bangkok, Hanoi and Saigon. I'm not sure about India - just never been there yet.

Like everywhere, inflation lives in Asia too.

#2 daawgon has been a member since 17/4/2007. Posts: 1,133
 Send daawgon a private message 

Posted by Walshyr32 on 22/9/2012 at 03:59

Thanks for the info, like I said I will have savings and would be utilising the £750 to top these up as I go along. Big cities don't excite me much and although I will be visiting them I don't plan on hanging around them for long.

Cheers

Mark

#3 Walshyr32 has been a member since 21/9/2012. Posts: 3

Posted by tyler on 22/9/2012 at 08:14