Text page

Southeast Asia

Southeast Asia forum

Itinerary suggestions: 2 months solo in SE Asia during April/May

Posted by ebove on 21/12/2015 at 08:05

I'm currently an English teacher in northeast Thailand and am beginning to plan for a (roughly) 2 month backpacking trip beginning April 1 when I am done teaching. I'm having a really hard time narrowing down where I'd like to go and would really appreciate any help with itinerary and route planning I can get!

At this point, I am mostly planning on traveling solo. Because I'll be alone, I'd love to go to places where I will have the opportunity to meet other travelers; however, I'm not a big partier and would prefer a more laid back vibe. This is my first solo trip as a 23 year old female, so going places that are relatively safe is a consideration (although I realize it's mostly about being smart, as I have lived in a large US city that probably had a higher crime rate than anywhere I will be going). I have spent a great deal of time in landlocked Thailand, so I am looking to explore more of the country, particularly the islands. Optimally, I'd like find a few islands that are relatively easy to get to, scenic, relaxing, but where I could still meet other younger travelers. Weather wise, I'm not sure whether it would be best to go to the Thai islands at the beginning or end of my trip.

As far as destinations outside of Thailand, I am pretty open minded. I have considered doing Chiang Mai/Pai/Chiang Rai and then taking the river boat to Luang Prabang. I'd like to see more of Laos but have heard mixed reviews about Vang Vieng and Vientiane so I'm not sure where to go from there - any opinions? I have already visited Siem Reap and Angkor Wat, which was the biggest attraction to me personally in Cambodia. I'd be willing to go back there but it's not a necessity. I would like to end my trip in Bali and the Gili Isles.

Ultimately, I am looking for advice on: