Text page

Southeast Asia

Southeast Asia forum

6 month Itinery, SE Asia, starting in October

Posted by rosaw1 on 6/5/2017 at 10:23

Please help! I am a 25 year old female and this is my first time backpacking - I hope to be going with a female friend of the same age.

I want to leave in October, and will have ~£6000 to spend post flights (no diving). I think this should give me about 6 months of travelling. I want to see as much of SE Asia as I can but not to rush it. I am not fussed about going to Singapore & think timor-Leste will be too risky? I want to go to Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand (although not the very touristy bits), and I think Malaysia. My interests are nature, wellness/spirituality, culture and people (mainly people!!!!!) so I imagine I will enjoy Indonesia, Cambodia and Laos the most. I am no going to do the typical party strip thing so want to avoid the western packed areas if I can - no booze cruises!

From what I have seen, Indonesia is the best place to start from UK? From there, maybe Laos and then bus travel around Cambodia, Vietnam and Thailand?

I could really do with some help of what route is the best (to go in the right months and with cheapest flights) - I am happy to be flexible on timings (visa depending). Where is the best place to be in the busiest months on Dec and Jan?

I hope you can help. thank you!

#1 rosaw1 has been a member since 6/5/2017. Posts: 4

Posted by somtam2000 on 6/5/2017 at 17:27 admin

Hi,

A couple of quick thoughts to get you started: