Photo: The back blocks of Candi Dasa.

Indonesia forum

New solo traveller in Java looking for tips

Posted by Nickipea on 4/9/2015 at 07:09

Hi All,

I'm looking for a little advice... I'm new to solo travelling (previously I've joined tour groups after arrival - this trip will be completely solo) and in the middle of researching a trip to Java towards the end of November and specifically on travelling from Yogyakarta to Bromo area and onwards towards Bali. I've already found quite a lot of advice on routes and transport on this site and elsewhere so that's fine. In doing that however, I've become nervous to the touts and cons that I will inevitably come across round the transport hubs and how not to get conned. I'll probably get a train Yogya to Surabaya, either a bus or train to Probolinggo and bus or motorbike towards Bromo. After a few days I'll head towards Bali, probably on a bus-ferry combo ticket. Can anyone give this newbie (who will no doubt stand out like a sore thumb on arrival anywhere) anything to watch out for, tourist traps, tips, etc. in these areas? Also, it seems like getting from Yogya to Bromo area in one day might be too much to manage, if so, any suggestions of overnight stops on the way would also be appreciated! I don't want to plan too much but at the same time, it's my first solo trip and I'd rather have the info and then use it to plan a day or two ahead while on the road.

All help greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Nicki

#1 Nickipea has been a member since 4/9/2015. Posts: 2
 Send Nickipea a private message   Where has Nickipea been? 

Skip the queues!
Skip the queues!
Ad Book plane, train, bus & ferry tickets
with 12Go Asia.

12go.asia

Read more

Posted by amnicoll on 9/9/2015 at 05:18

Hi

Welcome and a little surprised that you have not had any response.

remember it is not what you are looking out for but what you may no be looking out for that is the problem.