Text page

Indonesia

Indonesia forum

First Timer - Advice Needed!

Posted by KevinOconnor1 on 22/5/2016 at 10:33

Hi.

I'm travelling from Manchester, England to Bangkok and then immediately onto Bali, this is my first time travelling to this part of the world so any help/information would be greatly appreciated.

I am meeting up with a friend from the US who has already got a place for us to stay in Gili Trawangan. How do I go about getting there from Bali Airport? I have read about fast boats but I'm unsure if that is the best way or even how to get to the correct port from the airport?

I plan to fly out 30th June and our accommodation is book from 1st-4th July, is that sensible or should I maybe leave a day earlier and look to get a room somewhere to break up the travel?

Thank You for any help given.

#1 KevinOconnor1 has been a member since 22/5/2016. Posts: 1

Posted by somtam2000 on 22/5/2016 at 23:11 admin

Gili Trawangan is commonly reached by fastboat from Padang Bai which is a port about two hours by taxi from Bali airport.

You can also get a slowboat from the same port to Lombok and the make your way up to the Gilis - most go for the speedboats, but their safety record is spotty and overcrowding a big problem -- the slowboat option takes a lot longer.

You can book a combo ticket to the Gilis from anywhere in Bali which will include transfers to Padang Bai which will work out cheaper than a cab.

Overnighting in South Bali (in Sanur or Kuta for example) would be sensible.

#2 somtam2000 has been a member since 21/1/2004. Location: Indonesia. Posts: 8,093

Posted by amnicoll on 23/5/2016 at 04:57

I do not know what time you arrive but over-nighting in Padang Bai might also be an option

#3 amnicoll has been a member since 10/1/2005. Location: United Kingdom. Posts: 976

Posted by YogaSearcherBali on 25/5/2016 at 10:51