Photo: Classic scenery surrounds Vang Vieng.

Laos forum

travel books

Posted by ptgirl on 13/11/2006 at 00:42

Hi, i am planning a trip to Laos for Feb/March 2007. I have always been impartial to Lonely planet and Rough Guides for travel. However i notice that up to date editions of both are limited to 2005 for lonely planet and i think 2002 for RG. However i noticed that Footprint has an edition in 2006. Has anyone used Footprint? I have never used it before. Or is the latest version of Laos/lonelyplanet pretty accurate for the current time? Thanks in advance!

#1 ptgirl has been a member since 13/11/2006. Posts: 6

Posted by somtam2000 on 13/11/2006 at 05:54 admin

Hi ptgirl,

Welcome to Travelfish!

LP ar researching their new LP at the moment, but it will be another 9 months at least (closer to a year), before the book is released.

I'm not sure about Rough Guide's update schedule, but their existing book, particularly the background information is excellent.

The new Footprint is very very good. I've not used them much but when I picked up their new Laos book I found it very impressive -- and I'm not saying that because they gave us a plug! Certainly worth a try.

#2 somtam2000 has been a member since 21/1/2004. Location: Indonesia. Posts: 7,706
 Send somtam2000 a private message   Where has somtam2000 been?   Website   Twitter   Facebook    Flickr    Google+   Instagram   Pinterest 

Posted by longleat on 13/11/2006 at 07:28

I believe the new Rough Guide for Laos will be out Feb. 2007.

#3 longleat has been a member since 12/10/2006. Posts: 53
 Send longleat a private message 

Posted by ptgirl on 13/11/2006 at 10:25

Hi, thanks very much for your posts! Just wondering how easy it would be to pick up say the RG in February if i were travelling in Cambodia/vietnam around that time.

#4 ptgirl has been a member since 13/11/2006. Posts: 6

Posted by pilgrim on 13/11/2006 at 11:39