Photo: Classic scenery surrounds Vang Vieng.

Laos forum

Handstanding in Laos and Cambodia + bathing in sweet water?

Posted by carmenfeetup on 19/6/2015 at 10:28

Hello everybody!

Thanks to your amazing site and forum I found out about lot's of things to be well prepared for my trip to Laos and Cambodia..starting next week.
I just have two questions left.

1) I understand that in Laos and Cambodia a like, feet belong on the floor and lower than the rest and also that in some cases we should avoid having feet pointing towards boudha figures/sculptures... but I love to handsand. I handstand everywhere I go, I've been doing this since 2005 and have over 200 handstands in front of various landmarks and curiosities of the world.
Will it be ok for me to handstand in Laos and Cambodia if I ask permission? and to who?

2) I just came back from Air France Vaccination Centre in Paris and have been given a leaflet saying not to bath in sweet water... is it really that risky to do? Did you guys ever bath in the Mekong and in Luan Prabang?

Thanks for your replies and advice, as much as I can deal with not bathing I'd be really sad not to do any handstands...

#1 carmenfeetup has been a member since 5/6/2015. Location: France. Posts: 4
 Send carmenfeetup a private message 

Experience the Andaman Sea
Experience the Andaman Sea
Ad Spend 3 days / 2 nights on The Junk
From US$400.

liveaboard.com

Read more

Posted by exacto on 19/6/2015 at 17:07

I wonder if by sweet water you mean fresh water, like in rivers and streams. I personally would not choose to swim or bathe in the Mekong River, but plenty of locals do it all the time. I did wind up swimming in the Mekong the last time I was down near Pakse and did not have a problem. But it was because the river boat I was on crashed into the rocks and we had to wade to shore - not exactly by choice.