Photo: Classic scenery surrounds Vang Vieng.

Laos forum

Luang Prabang/Vieng Xai/Vientiane Route - advice pls

Posted by MariaGrazia on 28/10/2018 at 02:22

Hi all - we have travelled extensively through S-E Asia over many years but are total newbies at Laos travel. Hence starting my planning now for April 2019. We are flying in to Luang Prabang and out of Vientiane. Am interested in doing a loop from L.P. to Vieng Xai and then on to Vientiane. We are in the country for two weeks and happy to take it easy. Can folk recommend places to stop on this loop am thinking one or two nights in each place. All expertise welcome!

#1 MariaGrazia has been a member since 25/1/2016. Posts: 2

Posted by SoManyMiles on 28/10/2018 at 23:42 TF writer

Hi MariaGrazia,
To loop from Luang Prabang to Vieng Xai and Vientiane , the route would be: Luang Prabang - Nong Kiaow - Sam Neua - Vieng Xai - Phonsavan - Vientiane. It is in theory possible to do this in two weeks, however, the itinerary is intense. Assuming you will be relying on local transport, getting from Point A to Point B can take up the whole day so for the most part, day you are travelling are a write off.

Below is an idea of what the itinerary could look like. A few notes:
-To take it easy, you may want to drop one destination and/or spend as little as possible in Vientiane. Instead of a full day in Vientiane, allot it elsewhere. I like Vientiane but other parts on the itinerary are more special and scenic.
-If you are interested in nature, I recommend the Nam Nern night safari which breaks up the journey between Nong Kiaow and Sam Neua. April is a good time for wildlife spotting on the safari as the river is low and slow.
-Keep in mind that April 14-16 is Pi Mai, Lao new year. Not only is everything shut during the holiday, the party starts in the days leading up to it. Pi Mai is an exciting, fun, memorable time to be in Laos but not ideal for tightly packed itineraries. Plan accordingly.