Photo: At the Lee Kong Chian Museum.

Singapore forum

Thailand or Indonesia?

Posted by Traveldelight88 on 17/9/2014 at 22:07

Hello there, newbie here,

Planning to have a short vacation to either Thailand or Indonesia on January2015. Any advice which one is better and affordable for 3-5 days stay? What attractions are not to be missed?

Thank you

#1 Traveldelight88 has been a member since 17/9/2014. Posts: 1

Posted by SBE on 18/9/2014 at 02:18

Thailand has better weather at that time of year, better transport infrastructure, and better food. Not to be missed attractions depend on what kind of things you like and you didn't mention your interests. Basing yourself in Bangkok would probably be the most time efficient solution for such a short visit. If you do a search I'm pretty sure TF has plenty of suggestions for things to do and see in and around Bangkok....you could see temples and markets and the like and maybe do a trip to Kanchanaburi or Ayutthaya if you want to get out of the city for a day. But you won't have much time. Do those 3-5 days include travelling to and from Singapore as well?

#2 SBE has been a member since 14/4/2008. Location: Global Village. Posts: 2,051
 Send SBE a private message   Where has SBE been? 

Posted by exacto on 18/9/2014 at 09:55

I like SBE's suggestion on the Bangkok/ Ayutthaya / Kanchanaburi triangle for a short visit. You could easily spend that time just in Bangkok alone (see the recent feature article on craft villages in Bangkok, for example). Ayutthaya has a wonderful UNESCO World Heritage Site area and a good traveller scene, and Kanchanaburi has history and outdoors stuff.