Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

3 weeks in Thailand, Cambodia and/or Laos

Posted by awnyc on 2/8/2010 at 04:09

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the site, but am loving the content and the posters. So very informative.

To get to the point, with my husband I'm hoping to plan a 3 week trip to southeast asia during late Dec/Jan. Would love to have more time, but with out schedules that's the most we could eek out.

That said, where should we spend our time!? Both of us travel a fair bit, but have never been to the region. We're adventurous and love experiencing the local culture. Touristy things just aren't us. I don't want to spend half of my trip plowing through crowds of large tours (you know the ones, where everyone wears matching t-shirts, hats, etc.).

We plan to spend 4 days in Koh Toa (or somewhere similar) getting PADI certified. We're flexible about where we fly into/out of. Budget conscious, although we'll be there during our anniversary so a suggestion on where to splurge for a night or two is very welcome. And maybe a beach for a few days? All that said, we might not have time for all 3 countries if we want to relax somewhat too.

I know very little about the region as a westerner with no trip under my belt. And I realize this is totally subjective since everyone has different tastes.

Send your thoughts my way, please!

#1 awnyc has been a member since 2/8/2010. Posts: 1

Posted by exacto on 2/8/2010 at 06:08

Hey New York,

You definitely won't have time for all three countries. The 4 days on Ko Tao plus travel to/from, etc., will take up most of one week, leaving just two weeks for all the rest.