Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

First time S.E Asia trip! Visa help and general advice please :)

Posted by shazamuk on 6/6/2011 at 00:13

Hey guys,
Im planning my first trip with my girlfriend round South East Asia for 4months in September. Our proposed itinerary goes something like this....

Arrive in Bangkok, travel up through Thailand for a few weeks eventually arriving at Chiang Khong, cross over into Laos and make our way down crossing into Vietnam then to Cambodia (All in all spending 6weeks or so in the surrounding countries to Thailand) Then fly back into bangkok from Cambodia to spend 2months in the islands and places that i love.
What do you think about the itinerary?

Also, Im unsure of what is the best way to go about Visas when in Thailand as I'll be there for 2 seperate occasions? Im planning to stick to the well trodden backpacker route as much as possible as its my first time travelling.

Any help would be much appreciated

#1 shazamuk has been a member since 5/6/2011. Posts: 1

Posted by DLuek on 6/6/2011 at 02:12 TF writer

Your itinerary is not at all specific, but generally speaking it sounds fine for 4 months. If you want specific advice on how to get to/from specific places then you'll need to be, well, more specific... "make our way down crossing into Vietnam then to Cambodia" could mean a lot of different things.