Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

Thailand - October 10th-30th

Posted by Simon1974 on 18/7/2011 at 22:29

Hi,
I am travelling solo to Thailand in October and its my first time in the country. I have 20 nights in total and expect to spend at least a couple of nights on sleeper trains. I have put together a rough itinerary below.

Bangkok - 3 nights
Chiang Mai - 4 nights
Kanchanaburi - 4 nights
Islands - 4 nights
Final night in Bangkok

I’m after a few opinions from people with a bit more experience of the area.
Am I trying to do too much in the time that I have?

I’ve looked at the weather guide for the islands and the chance of rain seems fairly high for either coast. Does anyone have any suggestions of which islands are most likely to be dry during the last week of October or would I better leaving that part of my trip open and making the decision whilst I’m there.

Thanks in advance for any responses

#1 Simon1974 has been a member since 12/7/2011. Posts: 3

Posted by MADMAC on 19/7/2011 at 00:09

That looks OK. I wouldn't get hung up on the nights. You might get somewhere and decide it blows and move on. Or you might get somewhere and love it and stay the whole time. But otherwise, looks fine.

#2 MADMAC has been a member since 6/6/2009. Posts: 6,957

Posted by guava_girl on 19/7/2011 at 09:17

Not sure which islands would be drier. On the Andaman the monsoon is coming to an end while on the Gulf it is just beginning. Just choose which you want to visit more and try your luck.

#3 guava_girl has been a member since 21/10/2010. Posts: 252

Posted by Tilapia on 19/7/2011 at 18:46

Leave it open, check the weather when you're there, and then decide.

#4 Tilapia has been a member since 21/4/2006. Location: Canada. Posts: 1,499
 Where has Tilapia been? 

Posted by SBE on 19/7/2011 at 19:49