Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

Thailand August 2012 6 month stay

Posted by charlirabe on 11/11/2011 at 02:24

Hi all, my name is Charli. Im a hairdresser by trade but currently working in a Customer Service centre. I am planning on travelling to Thailand in August 2012 & hoping to venture around for atleast 6 months. I have a Thai/Australian background & have been over to S.E.A for holidays with family & friends before but this trip, i will be going at it alone & for a longer period of time.'

Any answers to the following queries will be greatly appreciated as i wish to get all the past experiences & advice i can get while im still residing in Sydney.

QUESTIONS:
* With my Thai background & family in asia, am i meant to get a visa? If so, what am i applying for?
* What kind of budget am i looking at for the entire 6 months? Keeping in mind i want to be able to survive though not necessarily in luxury.
* Is there anybody else travelling on their own during the time i will be there (August- February), as i certain parts of the country i wouldnt mind meeting up with companions?
* Also out of curiousity & possibility, what are the chances of getting work over there & what will pay be like. Obviously not a fruitful as Australia.

Any answers will be GREATLY appreciated!

#1 charlirabe has been a member since 11/11/2011. Location: Australia. Posts: 3

Posted by Captain_Bob on 11/11/2011 at 21:43