Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

Teaching English in Thailand

Posted by biissir on 28/2/2012 at 13:14

I am a not-native teacher who has got nine years of experience of teaching,
with an MA in linguistics and Cambridge CELTA. I am planning on teaching
in Thailand and I am going there in April. I have heard that schools seek for native teachers.
Do I still have a chance to get a teaching position at schools or language institutes?
I do believe that I have got great teaching skills but I am afraid it might be misconsidered in Thailand since I am a non-native teacher. Mehdi

#1 biissir has been a member since 28/2/2012. Posts: 1

Posted by time2fly on 28/2/2012 at 16:57

I know a few people from CA who have went over to teach with no issues. I don't really know the answer ... sorry

#2 time2fly has been a member since 18/1/2012. Location: Canada. Posts: 112

Posted by DLuek on 28/2/2012 at 21:53 TF writer

Hi,

Many schools do look for native teachers, but with an MA in linguistics and a CELTA, I'm fairly certain you'll be okay. May I ask where you are from?

Also, if you haven't yet you'd be wise to post your questions in the forum at www.ajarn.com, which is an outstanding resource for TEFL teaching in Thailand.

#3 DLuek has been a member since 19/6/2008. Location: Thailand. Posts: 1,176
 Website   Twitter 

Posted by MADMAC on 29/2/2012 at 08:16