Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

1st time female traveler to Chiang Mai alone - is it safe?

Posted by warmicon on 18/6/2012 at 10:46

It's my first time traveling outside of the country alone. Just wondering if its safe. I was feeling okay about it until one of my male friends said "Are you sure? It's not worth it if something bad happens."

I'm going to a rural area in Chiang Mai (have to hop on a truck for 2 hours ride) to a farm of some sort from Wararot Market. Is that going to be safe?

Now I'm feeling a little unsure because of my friend's concern.

#1 warmicon has been a member since 18/6/2012. Location: Malaysia. Posts: 6
 Send warmicon a private message 

Posted by Captain_Bob on 19/6/2012 at 01:03

Chiang Mai is as safe as any other medium-size Southeast Asian city (safer than their counterparts in Europe and the US). Just stay away from druggies and drunk Thai guys in the middle of the night, use common sense, be careful on the roads, etc. Motorbikes are probably the most dangerous thing, but that's true for all of Thailand. Northern Thais are mostly gentle kind people but give them a motorbike and they go kinda brainless. What farm are you going to and do you know anyone there? Is it a reputable operation? Things to consider.

#2 Captain_Bob has been a member since 27/5/2006. Location: Thailand. Posts: 1,911

Posted by IslaViewResort on 3/7/2012 at 22:50

You will have a unique Experience in the rural Parts of Thailand - what you need to know:

Etiquette is very important to Thais, and though they might be more tolerant of foreigners visiting their country, knowing a few important dos and don’ts will certainly make it much easier during your stay in Thailand. Thai people are polite and non-aggressive by nature and expect the same of others - they will seldom display their displeasure with your rude behaviour, but you could be getting yourself into a troubled situation if you disrespect a few important aspects of their culture.