Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

Where's best to stay in bangkok for first time solo traveler (hostels where mainly solo backpacke

Posted by Paddy1888 on 10/10/2013 at 04:36

I'm traveling to thiland in November for 7 weeks this is my first time backpacking and I'm going solo would anyone no any good hostels where solo backpackers stay I'm 35 male from Ireland (KSR bit to mad for my first couple of nights)thanks

#1 Paddy1888 has been a member since 5/9/2013. Posts: 21

Posted by JaiYen88 on 10/10/2013 at 18:12

Asok near Sukhumvit is my favourite spot to stay in BKK. It's a perfect location for exploring the city, as it's on the Skytrain (BTS) and Metro (MRT). 'Interesting' nightlife around there (a different kind of mad than KSR). Plus there's Terminal 21 mall which has a super-cheap food hall on the top floor.

Asok Montri is a very decent hostel: http://www.asokmontrihostels.com/ A bit pricier than what you can find on KSR but worth it IMO. KSR isn't connected to any public transport apart from the riverboat, so you need to take taxis to get to places which aren't on the river, which is a pain with all the traffic.

That being said, I don't know too much about staying in other areas such as Silom, Chinatown etc. There are plenty of cool places to check out in Bangkok away from KSR!

#2 JaiYen88 has been a member since 25/4/2012. Posts: 110

Posted by DLuek on 10/10/2013 at 22:26 TF writer