Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

How much pre-booking do I need to do for a March trip?

Posted by NamManao on 25/12/2016 at 15:35

Hi all, I'm no newbie as I've been to Thailand four times, but I haven't been there since 2003. I'm looking at going in March 2017, but am wondering whether I can still "wing it" on the accommodations and domestic flights the way I have always done there in the past. That is to say, not pre-booking any hotel rooms (or flights, or anything else from the US before leaving) and just waiting until I'm there to survey the situation and choose suitable things from what's available.

I've never been to Thailand in March. On my past trips I was always there in June/July, except one trip in November (1988, during which I experienced biblical-scale floods in the south that I read in the paper the next day wiped out a whole village, sadly enough). I understand today that June and July are low season, but I didn't back then (1988, maybe I understood it a bit better as of my third trip in June 2001).

My concern about trying to pre-book a lot of the trip is that it locks you into a certain itinerary and removes most of the flexibility. I can imagine trying to adjust anything on the fly could become nightmarish, but I don't know, I mean considering the dramatic advancements in internet technology from 2003 to today.

My current understanding about March there is that it's a transition month between the end of the high season and the beginning of the low season. I guess my distilled question here is: does the tourist surge taper off enough by/in March that it will allow me not to have to worry about pre-booking all my moves before getting there?

#1 NamManao has been a member since 25/12/2016. Posts: 5

Posted by exacto on 25/12/2016 at 19:03

Hi NamManao,