Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

New Road Guest House

Posted by chatz on 11/6/2009 at 02:57

Hey ppl

Just pondering but i have been researching places to stay in bangkok and i came across New Road Guest House, seems like a quality place to find my feet, however it is not on Khao San Road but on the Charoen Road. Is Charoen far from KSR and how does one get to Chareon Road? As it is my first time to Bangkok, all advice is greatly appreciated : )

#1 chatz has been a member since 7/3/2009. Location: Ireland. Posts: 17

Posted by Tilapia on 11/6/2009 at 03:36

Hey Chatz,

It's nowhere near Khao San Road (which can be a very good thing sometimes.)

Best way to get from one to the other would be by water taxi, formally known as the Chao Phraya River Express boat. Only goes until just after sunset, though (another good thing.)

If you want to be within walking distance to the major temples, KSR, etc., then you might be better off considering staying somewhere in Banglamphoo or Samsen Districts. Personally, I don't recommend staying on KSR.

#2 Tilapia has been a member since 21/4/2006. Location: Canada. Posts: 1,499
 Where has Tilapia been? 

Posted by chatz on 11/6/2009 at 07:23

Tanx Tilapia

Your advices has been noted and greatly appreciated, i have heard that KSR is extremely seedy place and most places are not very habitable even if i am going to be roughing it.
Do you know the guest house i am on about if so, would you reccommend it?

#3 chatz has been a member since 7/3/2009. Location: Ireland. Posts: 17

Posted by Tilapia on 12/6/2009 at 00:34

I know where the GH is, but I don't know what it's like.