Photo: Keep up to date with your offerings.

Health and safety forum

Solo female travelling for the first time?

Posted by tkay on 2/12/2014 at 16:17

Im 19, and plan to go to Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, and Indonesia for 3 months, solo. I know you meet people along the way, however I do not want to rely on that. I have no experience backpacking or travelling alone. Is this safe? I know a girl who went solo when she was 18 and said it was perfectly safe, though I wanted more input. Also, is 5 countries covering too much ground for 3 months? I was thinking that it was reasonable since I would have at least two weeks in each. Any tips/advice is greatly appreciated!!!

#1 tkay has been a member since 2/12/2014. Posts: 1

Heading to Thailand?
Heading to Thailand?
Ad Search for cheap flights to Thailand
on Skyscanner.

skyscanner.com

Read more

Posted by altmtl on 2/12/2014 at 17:54

It is safe, but you may want to cut down on on the amount of countries - less is more

#2 altmtl has been a member since 18/5/2009. Location: Canada. Posts: 1,003
 Send altmtl a private message   Website   Twitter   Facebook  

Agoda coupon: Get an extra 7% off selected properties with the coupon code
“Tfishpromo”

Posted by exacto on 2/12/2014 at 19:36

hi tkay,

welcome to travelfish!

i've seen hundreds of young, single female travellers all over southeast asia throughout the years, and they get along just fine. so will you. as a percentage, i probably saw more single female travellers on my last trip to indonesia than any other previous trip to southeast asia.

of course, you'll want to use good judgement in your travels, such as being aware of your surroundings, not drinking too much alcohol at any one time (if you drink), and not accepting drinks from strangers, etc. otherwise, southeast asia certainly feels safer to me than any major US city, for example.