Photo: Fisherman returning to Ko Tarutao.

Trip reports forum

2 Months in SE Asia

Posted by tdk197 on 19/6/2015 at 13:06

1lnQybWJ.png Hey guys I'm wondering if you can take a look at my plan and give me any helpful feedback. This is my first time backpacking and I'll be going with a friend. We are going from late October to late December. All of my plans are in the attached picture. I mostly want to know if it's doable or if I'm rushing. None of the days are set in stone, I just wanted a general idea of how long to stay in each place. I will gladly stay at a place that I like longer and shorter at one that I'm not fond of. Is there any good cities that I skipped over? Also is it possible to get by on 700 baht a day per person? I'm also wondering which visa's I will need and where and when to get them. Any extra information is great!
Thank so much for any input you give.
Tyler

P.S Here is a link to the picture in case the picture doesn't work properly. http://pasteboard.co/1lnQybWJ.png

#1 tdk197 has been a member since 19/6/2015. Posts: 3

Skip the queues!
Skip the queues!
Ad Book plane, train, bus & ferry tickets
with 12Go Asia.

12go.asia

Read more

Posted by laurora on 29/6/2015 at 12:37

Hey Tyler,

I've never personally been to Laos, so I can't answer all of your questions, but I may be able to help a bit.

Itinerary:
I think your overall itinerary looks swift but doable. The most I stayed in one location on my last backpacking trip was 4 nights. I'm not sure what the bus times are like, but you may find that some days are completely taken up by travel, so budget that into your visits.

It also looks like you have quite a bit of time in Bangkok. You'll easily be able to entertain yourself there, but if you want to stay other places longer I might subtract a day or 2 from your longer Bangkok stay. It's great that you are doing so much overland travel because that will allow you to be super flexible.