Photo: .

Visas and border crossings forum

Travelling through South East Asia

Posted by Hennek1 on 17/8/2016 at 19:31

Hi everyone,

I am new to travel-fish so please bare with me! [img]smileys/smile.gif[/img]

I NEED AS MUCH ADVICE AS POSSIBLE!

My girlfriend and I are in the stages of planning an 8 month back-packing trip. Our route so far is:

London-Beijing-Make our own way to Hong Kong-Chang Mai-Laos-Vietnam-Cambodia-Malaysia- (Kuala Lumper)-Jakarta-make our own way to Bali-Sydney-NZ-India-London

We have our dates pretty much set out to leave on May 01st 2017 and will book flights to Beijing and an outward flight from Hong Kong to Chang Mai........then we need advice.

How do we travel South east Asia if we don't know how long we want to spend there, which means NO OUTWARD FLIGHTS? I read of backpackers who have spent over a year in the region and i have know idea how they do it.

We would be travelling slowly as this is the main area of our interests, which would mean travelling overland. It would be so much easier if you could fly into a country and just travel through different borders like the majority of Europe.

I am aware that Visas are required but again more advice on the types of visas we should get would be appreciated!

Thanks guys!

A very rough Time frame:

Beijing-Hong Kong................. 1 month
Northern Thailand................... 2 weeks (as i have been to the south before)
Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia........2 1/2 Months
Malaysia and Indonesia........... 1 Month
Oz and NZ................................1 1/12 months
India......................................... 6 weeks

#1 Hennek1 has been a member since 17/8/2016. Posts: 3

Posted by Hennek1 on 17/8/2016 at 19:32

.....Also im open to changes/alterations from people who have experience of this region!

Thanks Again!

#2 Hennek1 has been a member since 17/8/2016. Posts: 3

Agoda coupon: Get an extra 7% off selected properties with the coupon code
“Tfishpromo”